The availability toggle lets you easily make yourself available or not in the platform for other users. When available, people can decide to contact and call you on the platform or the mobile app.
If your availability is turned off, it means you are busy at that time and you are not available or willing to provide your help and time to others. In a sense, you are not reachable.
You can switch your availability on/off as many times as you want.